top of page
Blog: Blog2
Search
  • asteyayogasongdo

Santosha -Contentment "written by a student of YTTC-200"

I would like to share what I came to learn about myself through practicing yoga, especially in terms of Santosha. I have always been a very insecure person, doubting my abilities and also having a fear of being left out or being not successful in what I do. I also have always been a person with a very high expectation toward my achievements, trying not to fail myself. However, as I practiced yoga and learned about the theory during the weekend yoga sessions, I learned that believing in myself no matter what and accepting what I have is crucial in the yogic life. This is an example of how I usually get insecure in my emotions. Sometimes, I would like in my social media account and check how other people are living their lives. In the world of social media, people tend to post the highlights of their lives. They usually only post their “great experiences.” By looking at those posts and indirectly experiencing my friends’ happiness, I would feel that my life is very boring and not as happy compared to their lives. I would keep comparing my happiness to others’ happiness and measure them, even though I know that it is not correct. Learning about Santosha has really helped me overcome this feeling of insecurity in my life because it has taught me that feelings are temporary and it will be over at some point, that everyone is the same in their soul no matter what we experience, and that I already have many things that I have to be thankful for. Each one of us appear to be different on the outside, but ultimately, we are the same beings and we come to unite in the universe. Therefore, it is no use to feel insecure toward others, as we are actually the same beings. Although I am now coming to get this point, I really have to practice constantly for a long time and try to feel the gratitude toward myself for my existence whatever I experience, in order to really achieve the feeling of Santosha. For now, feeling grateful for what I have at the moment is the best that I can do, but maybe later on when I get to practice a higher mode of yoga, then I might be able to reach an even deeper sense of emotions (maybe get to the root of my emotions) and be able to control myself even better.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Looking Inwards "written by a student of YTTC-200"

Up to now, I don’t think I have ever used my imagination to look inwards into my body and picture my spine, my quadriceps, or even my chakras. Learning about the anatomy and applying the knowledge to

bottom of page